Dushanbe Bittersweet

Am finally getting round to editing the footage I took over the years. The process of putting together a more or less meaningful video is considerably more involved than editing a set of photographs, but in many ways it is the same experience, plus audio. The question I regularly face is: where to start? How to connect the pictures to create a coherent piece that isn’t contrived and perhaps even conveys a certain emotional quality. As with everything, one gets better at it the more one does it, but the beginning is like staring at a blank piece of paper, not sure about the first word.

One clip I wanted to put together for a long time is a short portrait of the capital of Tajikistan, Dushanbe. During the two weeks I spent there – in spring 2012 – I used to walk the city regularly and photograph and film everything that went on around me. I had no particular plan what I wanted to convey with the pictures, or how I wanted them to be assembled. Only in the editing suite was I able to finally establish some sense of order.

